“Three Weeks with my Brother” by Nicholas and Micah Sparks

I’ve been spending a lot of time DRIVING lately and get bored with the radio. Since I don’t read books, I figured my driving time would be wisely spent listening to audio books. I picked up “Three Weeks with my Brother” at the library because …… it looked more interesting than the alternatives. I can now say I actually finished a whole book this year AND enjoyed every word of it.

The book is a memoir, or a biography without all the boring stats. It start with current time, as Nicholas Sparks explores the possibility of taking a trip around the world with his one and only, older brother Micah. Then through the progression of the world trip, he shares several “flash backs” to his life so far, from the earliest memories until current day. It’s a story about family, love, loss, faith, success, failure, dreams and unbreakable bonds. I thought about my own 2 boys a lot.

I normally don’t get emotionally involved in books of movies, but this story had me laughing, crying, shouting in disbelief, my mouth dropping in shock and pondering my own life and values. I even learned a thing or two about parenting and life in general. By the end of the book, I felt like I knew the Sparks family personally and I really didn’t want the story to end.

Nicholas Sparks should be well-known to most people. He has written many “best sellers turned into movies” and is still at it. The memoir reveals how he started writing in the first place (it’s pretty funny). Next up on my list (if I can find it in audio version) would be “The Rescue”, inspired by Sparks’ own experience with an autistic child.

Leave a comment